Creating general forums linked to multiple courses

Userlevel 7
Badge +5

Hello, I’m a new LMS Admin/ID implementing Docebo.

I’d like to have some active forums for members. It looks like forums in Docebo always live within a course widget, and are course-specific.

Is it possible to have general forums outside of a class? I suppose I could create a few classes with next to no content and put them in a “Forums” folder with different topics, but this is pretty inelegant. 

I’d also like to have forums linked to multiple classes. For example, all the sales classes could be linked to a “sales tips” forum. All the leadership classes could be linked to a “leadership discussion” forum.

I’d like to do this inside Docebo.

17 replies

Userlevel 4
Badge +1

Hello @lrodman,

we had the same problem about the Forum, so we solved it creating a course with only the forum Widget, and hiding with CSS the course structure. So as you can see below in the example, the users can see the course as a generical forum. If you want you can link the different topics to the related classes.

Hope this helped you =) 

Userlevel 5
Badge +2

hi @lrodman , my name is Marco and I’m a product manager here in Docebo.

Discover Coach and Share , and specifically his Q/A functionality, can be used to create discussion on a topic, rather than on a specific content. 

Let me guide you in creating a very simple one.

Create a channel “Leadership Discussion” , keep it empty i(n this way won’t appear to anyone), assign the visibility to the people that should use the Q/A, and create a page with the widget Q/A, single channel, and select the channel “Leadership Discussion”. Your user can interact in this page.

Moreover, you can add also additional widget to the page, making it a sort of “Leadership Discussion” community page.