Best Answer

How do Groups and Enrollment Rules work?

• 5 November 2021
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 2
Badge

I am relatively new to the Docebo platform, and for the most part am finding it very intuitive. The one thing that I cannot understand is why enrollment rules function the way they do. As far as I can tell, enrollment rules only work for new users added into a group. For example, if you create an automatic group that captures 4 users in the system, and then assign that group to an enrollment rule, the enrollment rule will capture zero of those users. The only way to make that rule work retroactively is to edit the user account so that it doesn't fit in the group assigned to the rule, and then re-edit it so that it ends up back in the group. I played around with assigning an empty group to an enrollment rule and configuring the eligibility after the fact, but this does not seem to be a fix. I must be missing something here I imagine?

icon

Best answer by nick.tosto 5 November 2021, 14:09

View original

8 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +1

@mshumway I like to think of enrollment rules as a tool that will help you automate your enrollments “from this point forward”. While it would be nice if you could just check a box to have the rule apply retroactively, you can always just use the bulk enrollment option to capture the users who are already in a group.

Say you wanted to enroll the “Sales” group into a course and to have all future salespeople that are hired be enrolled into the course as well. To start, I would bulk enroll the group into the course, and then set up an enrollment rule to enroll each new person as they trickle in. It’s a two-step process but the enrollment rule will save you the hassle of enrolling each new member going forward.