Best Answer

Renewing my SSL Certificate for custom domain

• 17 August 2021
  • 7 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +4

Hello Community. So I have to renew my SSL certificate for my custom domain for the first time. I am not very technical so this process is not entirely clear to me so I came to the experts for help. Do I understand the steps correctly:

1. Download the cert files for the renewed certificate
  2. Under Advanced Settings, under HTTPS, click to Remove Certificate
  3. I then reupload the new cert files

I am assuming the system will be down the minute I remove the certificate. As such I plan to do it off peak hours. 

Does anyone have a more formal procedure for this type of system maintenance?

Thanks!

icon

Best answer by lrnlab 18 August 2021, 17:17

View original

7 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

HI @Cindy McElhinney we encountered a similar scenario but in our case something was missing on the cert which has affected the admin Enrollments page and the Custom Reports tab. We’ll need to upload a new certificate as you just did...there is no real down time to consider. Under normal circumstances, you  just need to diarize the end date of your cert to make it is renewed in time for you to upload the newest version without allowing it to expire first...we usually allow 1-2 weeks for IT to get hat updated.

Userlevel 6
Badge +4

Thanks @lrnlab. I’m having flashbacks to big issues when I first uploaded the cert. We are in the midst of onboarding new staff members for the fall school semester so I can’t afford any downtime. I’m 10 days out from expiration so I’m going to do it this weekend and hope for the best. :grimacing:

Userlevel 5
Badge +1

A good tip I learned after setting up multidomain with SSO last year and running into SSL cert issues - once you apply your certificate you can verify it is working/no issues by using an online SSL checker site such as DigiCert’s. It’s free and dead simple to use.

https://www.digicert.com/help/