Question

I want to create a simple course

• 13 April 2024
  • 6 replies

I am brand new to Docebo, and no one at my company that is still here has used it. I am struggling.

I simply want to create basic courses - a few "slides" of written content, and embed videos. This was so easy with the LMS at my previous company, but I have watched a ton of tutorial videos, and I cannot create a simple course in Docebo.  

Can anyone possibly help?

6 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +2

Well, if you are using PowerPoint, you could make an mp4 our of the slides and just post that - that is probably the quickest way to create a course.  With PowerPoint open, click Save As, then mp4.  You will want to set up timing for slide transitions and such, but it’s very doable.

Good luck.

Userlevel 5
Badge +1

@JeanetteMcVeigh is correct, using an mp4 is a simple & viable solution.

Another option is to click “Add Training Material”>”Slides Converter” in the Training Material tab in the course. You can select the correct ppt file, & it’s a simple way for users to navigate.

Userlevel 6
Badge +2

Another option is to click “Add Training Material”>”Slides Converter” in the Training Material tab in the course. You can select the correct ppt file, & it’s a simple way for users to navigate.

@NateC, I haven’t tried that yet with an embedded video...will the video play?

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

@NateC, I haven’t tried that yet with an embedded video...will the video play?

probably not since the conversion seems to ‘flatten’ everything...pretty sure any timing effects are also lost.

Userlevel 5
Badge +1

Hi @JeanetteMcVeigh, @lrnlab 

My apologies, I was not clear.

The solution that I offered is only for static PowerPoint files. Anything with a video would not work. But if you're just looking for a method of adding non-video ppt files, using the Slides Converter is one potential method. If your ppt has any video or audio this is not a viable solution.

Userlevel 7
Badge +6