Skip to main content
Best Answer

Captivate with the new Course Player UI

Is anyone using Captivate for creating their SCORM lessons and using the new UI?

The old UI had no issue. With the new UI, if you play the lesson in the default view, it will mark complete. However, if you click the icon to make the player bigger, it will not mark complete.

I have this issue in with support but it’s been over a month and they don’t have a reply yet other than saying it’s my Captivate file, which I did extensive testing and don’t believe that is the case, nor can possibly be the case when it marks complete in the standard view.  

Is anyone else using Captivate and can replicate this? Learners are frustrated.

11 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

Hi - by far I am not a SCORM expert. Something sounds missing or flawed with your note (please hear it isnt YOU). A question or two:

Is there a way you can try it back in the classic player????
Can you hide the “enlarge” from the player?

When you mention enlarge - I think of videos.

Video playback for example are a particular nuisance with mobile devices (as it often relies on offloading the video to the player in the mobile device) and SCOs for example. Depending on how the SCO is wired…you can land up playing the video and miss the triggers in the SCO itself. But that will happen in the old or new player (is my point)…unless you hack it.

Userlevel 1
Badge

Hi, thanks for a reply.  It sounds like you are not using Captivate. 

It works fine in the old player. I’ve done alot of testing. The old player didn’t have this maximize feature at all, it is new with the new UI. In the old UI, you had to choose one setting or a second setting but the user could not toggle back and forth. 

The user can now choose to “enlarge” (good word there) the player to see the content better. That’s a good thing. I want that. 

These aren’t videos, meaning mp4 files, if that is what you are referring to.

Userlevel 7
Badge +6