Renew Certification link?

• 15 February 2024
  • 14 replies

Userlevel 3

Hi everyone,

I would be interested to hear what workarounds others have put in place where users are selecting the Renew Now widget multiple times?

I find the 'Renew certification' link in the course a much better option than directing a user to My Activities > Certification > Renew Now.

It would be great if this link could be added to the certification reminder notification instead of sending them to the Renew your certification page, but I have very little experience with CSS and don't know if this is something that's possible?

Have you encountered similar issues with certification renewals and what works best for you?

Jo :)

14 replies

Userlevel 6
Badge +2

I have used two different methods. 

1. Task Widget on a page with the Certification tab, sometimes on the certification tab.
    We did need to do some CSS because the default message is not applicable to certifications and sends the wrong message to users. 
  2. Button on a page with a link directly to My Activities > Certification, where they can select renew. 

I have implemented this recently, the addition of archive course enrollments has made it feasible. We haven’t had enough time to see valid outcomes yet. 

Userlevel 6
Badge +2

I’m really looking forward to this Certification and Retraining functionality update. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +7

@joanne.gerard if you are OK using HTML you can easily code your “renew now” button in the notificaitons to go to a specific course (using the href tag) however you would then need 1 notification for each course. Or you can include instructions for users to go back to whatever course they need to complete to renew the certification.

Userlevel 3