Skip to main content

Conflict: courses in this learning plan are also included in other learning plans

  • Nov 11, 2026 7:38 PM UTC
  • 4 replies
  • 23 views

NateC
Helper I
Forum|alt.badge.img+3

Hi all.

I tried to archive an enrollment in a Learning Plan because it had an expiry set that was conflicting with the user’s ability to complete a course that was added years after he completed the LP. As if that wasn’t irritating enough on its own, I got the following message when i tried to archive: Conflict: courses in this learning plan are also included in other learning plans

Am i looking at this right? If a user is enrolled in multiple Learning Plans that have common courses, this will affect my ability to adjust their enrollment? Because that doesn’t make a bit of sense. Why should it matter? Now what am i supposed to do about this user? I looked over how this LP is set up, & it’s a bit of a tangled web of courses that are part of other LPs. I can’t just go willy-nilly removing courses from LPs that other people created.

I truly don’t understand why this needs to be an issue - it just seems like an obstacle for the sake of an obstacle - but more so, I’m not sure how I’m supposed to fix this. I can, in this case, reset the user’s validity dates, but i would much rather just be able to archive them. If anyone knows how I can overcome this, I’d be grateful.

4 replies

lrnlab
Hero III
Forum|alt.badge.img+10
  • Hero III
  • Nov 11, 2026 7:54 PM UTC

Hi ​@NateC sounds like you may need to create duplicate of your courses included in your LPs to have that level of control. Unfortunately the archiving function still leave a lot to desire.


NateC
Helper I
Forum|alt.badge.img+3
  • Author
  • Helper I
  • Nov 12, 2026 12:35 PM UTC

Thanks ​@lrnlab; not the answer I was hoping for, but it’s the one I was expecting.

I’ll have to sit w/ this for a bit. I’ve got Power Users who make pretty intricate connections b/w their courses, & I know they won’t be too thrilled if I ask them to duplicate them. If I can come up with a way of avoiding making more work for them, I’ll take that route.


Hi ​@NateC, chiming in here - you can use the APIs to your advantage here, I’ve run into this problem before, here’s how I did it. The downside is some loss on the training material data, but in most cases I’ve seen, that wasn’t so much of a concern.

  1. Unenroll user from LP you want to keep them in (keep the information about their completion, etc. in a separate file).
  2. Add user to a non-notification exclusion group (if applicable)
  3. Archive the LP enrollment (shared courses won’t be a problem, since its unenrolled)
  4. Use the APIs to Re-Enroll the user in the LP with the details from Step 1.
  5. Remove the user from Step 2 group.
  6. Manually complete training materials, if needed.

This process can also be used with Docebo Connect to automate it.


NateC
Helper I
Forum|alt.badge.img+3
  • Author
  • Helper I
  • Nov 12, 2026 4:07 PM UTC

thanks ​@INoahGuy_Lrnlab, i’m going to bookmark this so I can refer to it again as needed.