Skip to main content
Question

Force users to retake a course when it is part of a learning plan

  • August 4, 2026
  • 4 replies
  • 40 views

Does anyone know how I could force a user to retake a course or re-do training material when it is part of a learning plan or a different course? For example, I have a course that is part of a learning plan, and a user completed that course, but then enrolled in the learning plan. I want them to be required to re-do that course as part of the learning plan. 

4 replies

lrnlab
Hero III
Forum|alt.badge.img+10
  • Hero III
  • August 4, 2026

Only way I can think of would be to archive that enrolment record at the course level or manually reset the training materials and course status.


Moshe.Machlav
Helper III
Forum|alt.badge.img+2

Hi ​@amuni , welcome to the community!

Before jumping into the exact "how," I'd love to understand the "why" behind this requirement.

In Docebo, course completions are tracked at the user-course level, not the learning plan level. This means if a user completes Course A, the system recognizes them as having completed it across the entire platform, regardless of which Learning Plan it belongs to.

Are you looking to force a retake because the course content has changed? Or is this related to a recurring compliance/certification requirement?


  • Author
  • Novice I
  • August 25, 2026

Our customers get early access to our academy prior to our implementation team assigning the implementation curriculum. In some cases they may have also had access because they were using a previous version of our software. If the customer takes a few courses while exploring, our implementation team wants them to have to re-watch the videos in a designated order as part of our implementation curriculum. 


Hi ​@amuni, if this is something that is an ad-hoc sort of need, rather than a regular ‘bulk’ occurrence, you could have the implementation team reset the user’s progress on training material in the course and set the progress to something like in progress.

Theoretically, the user should stay in the LP, but have access to ‘new’ content.