Question

Hide a course/training module

  • 3 March 2022
  • 4 replies
  • 473 views

Is there a way to hide training/course on the homepage ( for workshops no longer in use)

 

Thank you


4 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

You mean besides just setting the status from published to under maintenance on the course properties?

Userlevel 6
Badge +3

You could use the published/under maintenance option or remove the course from catalogs where you don’t want it visible to learners.

Managing courses by one or more “Admin” catalogs lets you group courses that are visible only to your admins. For instance you could have admin-only catalogs that contain just retired courses, or courses that are being tested, etc. (If you put those courses “under maintenance” they disappear from the catalogs).

Unfortunately the “course management” list doesn’t have a lot of filtering capabilities for the admin (such as filtering by “category”), so that list gets really long over time and any filters you set don’t persist beyond your current login session. Using catalogs helps you group courses, and they can also live in more than one catalog if desired.

Userlevel 7
Badge +4

You could use the published/under maintenance option or remove the course from catalogs where you don’t want it visible to learners.

Managing courses by one or more “Admin” catalogs lets you group courses that are visible only to your admins. For instance you could have admin-only catalogs that contain just retired courses, or courses that are being tested, etc. (If you put those courses “under maintenance” they disappear from the catalogs).

Unfortunately the “course management” list doesn’t have a lot of filtering capabilities for the admin (such as filtering by “category”), so that list gets really long over time and any filters you set don’t persist beyond your current login session. Using catalogs helps you group courses, and they can also live in more than one catalog if desired.

This is a great approach! All depends on the full scope of your work process.

Userlevel 7
Badge +8

HI @angela. difilippo not sure what you are referencing when you say homepage...is this your user homepage? Users can opt to hide a course if they wish from the My Courses page:

+ the other options listed above can have a similar effect...removing a course from your catalogues will not hide the course from users personal plans though...same for placing a course under maintenance when it is already assigned to the users..

Another option that could work for you is to hide the training materials using the options found under Course Management > Training Materials:

 

hopefully you’ll find some useful options

Reply