Skip to main content

Account reactivating support process

  • September 28, 2026
  • 7 replies
  • 65 views

Forum|alt.badge.img

Hi Docebo community,

As my team has been releasing more training programs on Docebo, we’ve noticed an uptick of users with deactivated accounts reaching out to us with problems logging in. I wanted to see if other teams have an elegant solution for reactivating accounts, or suggestions on improving our process:

Right now it looks like:

  1. Email is sent to support about not being able to log into their LMS account.
  2. We reset their password to a generic temporary one.
  3. Use the “Send activation notification” option which includes the temporary password in the messaging.
  4. Email the user back saying we’ve reset their password and to keep an eye out on their account.

As we release more programs I envision the number of requests will balloon. It would be nice if users can request their accounts to be reactivated directly on Docebo!

Thank you in advance for any interesting ideas!

7 replies

Hi ​@vhung, have you considered not setting a temporary password, but linking in the password reset capabilities directly into the welcome email so the user doesn’t need to change it after getting in once? Should be that shortcode: {{{user_password}}} 

That would mean the flow looks like:

  1. User receives welcome email with password reset link

Okay, that’s it. No more tickets to replace passwords, since they’ve done it themselves :)

 

Hopefully that helps!


cheyenne.carpenter
Docebian
Forum|alt.badge.img

Hi ​@vhung! Out of curiosity, what types of accounts are marked as deactivated? Would it be people that haven’t accessed in a certain amount of time or something else? I guess I’m asking what objective marking people as inactive accomplishes!

Unconventional ask… But could you simply reactivate all users? Not sure of your use case or what impacts that might have, but I thought I’d ask about the simplest solution first :) 


I have the same query!

We have a lot of users that are contractors or seasonal workers so we deactivate them when they are offboarded automatically via our HR system integration, but when they return for next season of work or are re-onboarded for another work site, the system won’t automatically reinstate their profile as active. It works one way but not the other. Currently we have our IT team send L&D a notification email to advise that the system attempted to reactivate a user but it failed, then we have to manually reactivate the user and update any details. Would love to know if there’s another automated solution to reactivating users returning to employment with us via our HR system as we are a growing organisation and this process is not sustainable in the future with the amount of seasonal and contractor workers we have coming and going.

Sorry not much help for your situation but sounds like we are in the same boat! 


cheyenne.carpenter
Docebian
Forum|alt.badge.img

Hi ​@daniela.asker! May I ask how you have the HRIS integration set up? Automation app, native connector, Docebo Connect? 


Our IT team says it’s set up as a custom integration through Azure Logic apps using Docebo REST APIs. I’m not entirely sure how it all works as I don’t have an IT brain really - I’m have the L&D brain 🤣😊


Forum|alt.badge.img
  • Influencer I
  • October 7, 2026

I have the same query!

We have a lot of users that are contractors or seasonal workers so we deactivate them when they are offboarded automatically via our HR system integration, but when they return for next season of work or are re-onboarded for another work site, the system won’t automatically reinstate their profile as active. It works one way but not the other. Currently we have our IT team send L&D a notification email to advise that the system attempted to reactivate a user but it failed, then we have to manually reactivate the user and update any details. Would love to know if there’s another automated solution to reactivating users returning to employment with us via our HR system as we are a growing organisation and this process is not sustainable in the future with the amount of seasonal and contractor workers we have coming and going.

Sorry not much help for your situation but sounds like we are in the same boat! 

 

Reactivation is a pain point for us too. ​@cheyenne.carpenter  We use a scheduled CSV export from our HRIS to a local SFTP folder, and the Automation App imports the file nightly to update user profiles.

​@daniela.asker We could add an Active column to the HRIS export and map a value of 1 to reactivate the user. The challenge is that we have quite a few groups and enrollment rules tied to profile data. Upon reactivation, a user could immediately be placed into groups and enrolled in courses based on the profile information that existed when they were deactivated.

So for us, the order of operations becomes important: does the logic 1) reactivate the user and then update their profile, or 2) update the profile first and then reactivate them? Ideally, we’d want the current HRIS data applied before reactivation so that group membership and enrollment rules evaluate against the user’s current information rather than stale profile data.

I am interested to hear how others are handling this, especially with automated groups and enrollment rules in place.


cheyenne.carpenter
Docebian
Forum|alt.badge.img

​@dorseyrn this is great to know and I think you’re on the right track here!! :) ​

To make sure that you’re not relying on any order of operations snafus, I’m going to suggest following essentially the same suggestion you offered, but remove the order of operations issue from the equation! 

  1. Keep your CSV export from the HRIS export as-is OR add the value of 1 and do not import that column. This will make it so that when you get someone coming back and needing reactivated, it’s updating their profile information first (that comes from the HRIS). 
  2. Add another rule in the Automation App that mirrors the first one - this time WITH the column with a value of 1 to reactivate included - but schedule it for the hour after the previous rule. 

This will make it so that the user info is always updated right before reactivation so that they’re assigned to the right groups, courses, etc.! 

Do you see any reason why that wouldn’t work?